Colorado Workers’ Compensation
What to do if you’ve been hurt on the job.
Nobody ever thinks that he will get hurt on the job. But when you do, here’s what to do:
- GET MEDICAL ATTENTION. If you are injured, report it to the employer immediately and seek medical attention. Typically, you will be seen by the “company doctor.” Therefore, be truthful about your injuries and only answer the questions you know the answer to. Do not speculate about what happened if you don’t know.
- REPORT THE ACCIDENT TO YOUR EMPLOYER – IN WRITING. The law requires you to report your on-the-job injury to your employer in writing within 4 calendar days for an accidental injury and within 30 days from the onset of disability for an occupational disease (i.e. mesothelioma, black lung disease). If you’re reading this and it’s been more than 4 days since your date of accident or 30 days since you were diagnosed with an occupational disease, that’s okay. Report it as soon as possible and your workers’ compensation attorney will sort out the rest.
- GET WITNESS INFORMATION. People come and people go. Therefore, if there were any witnesses to your accident at work, get that person’s name, phone number, address, and e-mail. Workers’ compensation cases can take forever. You want to be sure that your workers’ compensation attorney can contact whomever he needs to in order to effectively represent you.
- STOP TALKING ABOUT THE ACCIDENT WITH ANYONE BUT YOUR DOCTOR. It’s cynical, but employers want to make sure that their employees are not “faking it” when they claim a workplace injury and they will try to trip you up every step of the way and twist your words all the way to the bank. If not them, the workers’ compensation insurance companies will try to come after you, including sending spies (no, seriously) to check up on you at home, the grocery store, your job site (if you’re still able to work). It’s hard to separate the good, honest employers and insurance adjusters from the bad ones. Therefore, limit your conversations about your workplace injury to those conversations with your doctor or lawyer. If the employer needs information about your injury, tell them to call your lawyer which brings me to my next point.
- HIRE A WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ATTORNEY. Do not try and manage your case by yourself. From here on out, it is you versus your employer AND the insurance company. You are going to need a workers’ compensation lawyer who will fight for you and not back down. Nobody likes to pay for someone else’s injuries and they will fight you over every penny every step of the way. Colorado workers’ compensation law is so over-the-top complicated, it would be highly inadvisable to try and manage your workers’ compensation case alone.
Call Your Denver Personal Injury Attorney Jeffry Dougan at 303-704-1222 today and set up your FREE initial consultation to discuss your Colorado workers’ compensation case.
Related: How company doctors can termination your Colorado workers’ compensation benefits.